Showing 4 results

Archival description
Peace River Country collection
Print preview View:

John Yaremko's papers

The series consists of papers accumulated over the years by John Yaremko. It includes twenty-two letters from his nephew Mike Kotek (the letters contain details about everyday life in the 1930s Rycroft area), ten letters from Mike Zahara and family, letters and postcards from Makuch, M. Mузика (M. Muzyka), Jackowsky, John Diakun, В. Вернюк (William Werniuk), Mike Lazoruk, and some official letters from the government. The series also contains private documents such as tax payment receipts, meal tickets, the Workers' Benevolent Association of Canada membership card, unemployment relief card, 'notices of distress,' a filed lawsuit, and other documents, many of which reflect his financial difficulties in the late 1920s and 1930s. There are also invitations (to dinner and wedding), a play ad, political pamphlets, and other records.

Peace River Country collection

  • CA BMUFA 0272
  • Collection
  • 1917 - 2001

The collection is composed of three groups of materials. Namely, the correspondences and documents of John Yaremko, the St. John the Baptist Church books, and self-published family histories. The following books from the Peace River Country Collection are added to the Kule Folklore Centre library: 1. Калинчук, Микола. Де ставок та млинок. Оповідання. Обгортка й рисунки С. Гординського. ЛЬвів: Видавництво "Вікна," 1930 (has a stamp of the Branch Youth Section Ukrainian Labor-Temple Association and the Association of United Ukrainian Canadians, High Prairie Branch; 2. Настасівський М. Українська іміграція в Сполучених Державах. Ню Йорк: Видання Союзу українських робітничих організацій, 1934 (a stamp of the Association of United Ukrainian Canadians, Wolyn Branch); 3. Луговий Ол. Визначне Жіноцтво України. Історичні життєписи у чотирьох частинах. Торонто: Український робітник, 1942 (a stamp of the Association of United Ukrainian Canadians, Wolyn Branch).

Yaremko, John

St. John the Baptist Parish records

The series consists of treasurers' records, Women's and Men's League financial records, financial reports, and minutes of the Ukrainian Catholic Rectory meeting on Jan. 27, 1979.

RYCROFT – St. JOHN the BAPTIST Parish – Парафія св. Івана Хрестителя
In the early 1900’s a number of Ukrainian Catholic pioneers had homesteads around the Rycroft, Greenway, and Volyn areas. Feeling the need for spiritual assistance they set about trying to get it.
The first Divine Liturgy was held at the home of Michael Muzyka in 1930 by Fr. Josaphat Tymochko, OSBM, from Mundare. From then on sporadically the services were held at Muzyka’s and Rawlek’s farms, and when possible at Greenway school with the Basilian Fathers Paul Olinsky, Theodozy Dobko, Ambrose Wynnyk and others celebrating. In 1937 a few Greenway settlers got together to discuss the matter of building a church. Michael Muzyka kindly donated an acre of land for the church and cemetery. Having the land, a committee was to be appointed. The parishioners elected the following people: John Rawlek – president, William Werniuk – secretary and Mike Muzyka – treasurer. The labor was voluntary and the construction began under Joe Bilinski, carpenter from Wanham and Stefan Moolyk of Greenway. The cornerstone was blessed on June 7, 1938 and a jar with names of the workers was sealed in cement: Mike Muzyka, William Werniuk, John Rawlek, John Bzowy, Peter Stadnyk, Peter Smakula, Paul Kozel, Yan (John) Yoniec, Fred Boyko, William Boyko, Gordon Rawlek, William Naum, Stefan Moolyk and John Bilinski. The blessing of the church, now called Sts. Peter and Paul Ukrainian Greek Catholic Church, was held on June 8, 1941 by Bishop Basil Ladyka. Walter Bzowy and Emily Werniuk got married on this occasion.

In 1954 the church in Greenway became too small to accommodate the greater number of faithful and it was decided to relocate the church to Rycroft and enlarge the whole structure. The Parish was dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.

The church was served by the Basilian Fathers: Fr. Josaphat Tymochko (1932), Fr. Paul Olinsky (1932-1935), Fr. Theodozy Dobko (1936-1937), Fr. Matthew Sianchuk (1938- ), Fr. Benedict Hrynyshyn (1949-1950).

From the Eparchial clergy: Fr. Nicholas Budz (1950-1951), Fr. Euthymius Melnychuk (1953-1954), Fr. Peter Moysiuk (1956), Fr. Omelian Nakonechny (1957- ), Fr. Bohdan Karychek (1964-1968), Fr. Demetrius Baziuk (1968-1972), Fr. Philip Shinduke (1972-1980), Fr. Richard Zuback (1981-1984), Fr. Benny Ambrose (1985-1992), Fr. William Hupalo (1993-1995), Fr. Ivan Nykyforuk (1996-2003), Fr. Gary Sedgwick (2003-2008).
Excerpts from: